Challenges in Delivering

High-Quality CPR:

Is It Time for Mechanical CPR?

 

Date:

 

June 6, 2018

 

12 PM EDT; 11 AM CDT; 9 AM PDT

 

Speaker:

 

Nicole Kupchik

MN, RN, CCNS, CCRN, PCCN, CMC

 

Nicole Kupchik Consulting, Inc.

 

 

 

Description:

Although high-quality CPR is the primary component influencing survival from cardiac arrest, there is considerable variations in implementation. For example, manual compressions are often too fast and too shallow with too frequent pauses or interruptions. The use of automatic mechanical CPR devices can provide a consistent rate and depth of compression and is one way of improving the quality of chest compression particularly in situations with staff shortages or fatigue. This webinar will provide a review of the current literature on mechanical CPR addressing both advantages and concerns.

 

Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of this activity, the participant will be able to:

 

  1. Describe the challenges associated with delivery of high-quality CPR in hospitals
  2. Discuss the alternatives to manual CPR
  3. Examine the evidence for the use of mechanical CPR devices

 

Continuing Education for Nurses and Respiratory Therapists

This program has been approved for 1.0 contact hours Continuing Respiratory Care Education (CRCE) credit by the American Association of Respiratory Care, 9425 N. MacArthur Blvd. Suite 100, Irving, TX 75063.

This education activity is approved for 1.0 contact hour. Provider approved by California Board of Nursing, Provider # 14477 and the Florida Board of Nursing Provider # 50-1703

 

Support for this educational activity from Physio-Control, now part of Stryker

Fill out my online form.

Philips Terms of use Policy